The New Yorker wins two Overseas Press Club Awards

22 March 2022

Two of The New Yorker's contributors were among the honorees: Anand Gopal and Ian Urbina.

The winners of the Overseas Press Club Awards, which recognize excellence in international reporting, have been announced and two of The New Yorker's contributors are among the honorees: Anand Gopal for his report on the rural Afghan women living under Taliban rule and Ian Urbina for his investigation into a shadow immigration system created by the European Union.

Anand Gopal, a contributing writer, won the O.P.C.’s Ed Cunningham Award, which honors the best magazine-style, long-form narrative feature in print or digital on an international story, for “The Other Afghan Women.” The judges said, “A brave and beautifully wrought tale, written with clarity and humanity, that challenges readers to think more broadly about the complicated interlacing of war and women’s rights.” This marks Gopal’s fourth O.P.C Award in the last six years.

Ian Urbina won the O.P.C.’s Joe and Laurie Dine Award, which honors the best international reporting in any medium dealing with human rights, for “The Secretive Prisons That Keep Migrants Out of Europe.” The story was reported in collaboration with the Outlaw Ocean Project. The judges said, “At great personal risk, Ian Urbina exposed the horrors of Libyan detention camps where African migrants are held as they attempt to travel to Europe. Through a tacit and unsavory agreement, the European Union essentially pays Libya to catch and imprison the migrants so that Europe does not have to face problems on their borders.”

Additionally, The New Yorker staff writer Raffi Khatchadourian, plus contributors Ben Mauk, Sam Wolson, and Matt Huynh, received the runner-up citation for the Joe and Laurie Dine Award for three distinctive pieces – a magazine story, a documentary in V.R., and an interactive feature – that provide a singularly revealing view of how and why the humanitarian crisis in Xinjiang has unfolded.

View the full list of winners and runner-ups is available here.